2021 Next Generation Water Summit
June 2-4, 2021: 9am – 1pm MT

2021 Next Generation Water Summit
June 2-4, 2021: 9am – 1pm MT

About the Event

The Next Generation Water Summit brings together the building and development community, water reuse professionals and water policymakers in a collaborative setting to share best practices and learn about innovative water conservation and water reuse techniques that can be used to comply with water conservation restrictions spreading across the southwest.
The theme of the 2021 Summit is: “Drought, Growth and Social Equity”, and each day is devoted to one aspect of that theme.
This year’s event will include national speakers, such as Katharine Hayhoe, Gary Klein, Bill Christiansen, Laureen Blissard and Jonah Schein.

Hear more about the 2021 Summit
Hear even more about the 2021 Summit

Agenda



2021-06-02 09:00:00 MT

Keynote: Connecting Global Change to Local Impacts on Agriculture, Water and the Economy

Speaker
Katharine Hayhoe - Professor
2021-06-02 10:20:00 MT

Drought, Growth and Water Conservation

Speaker
Bill McDonnell - Manager, Water Efficiency
bmcdonnell@mwdh2o.com
Panelist
Deirdre Irwin - Water Conservation Coordinator
dirwin@sjrwmd.com
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-02 11:25:00 MT

Living on 50 liters per day that feels like 500

Speaker
Frantz Beznik - Head of R&D, Sustainable Innovation
beznik.f@pg.com
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org

The 50 Litre Home Coalition (50L Home) is a global, action-orientated, multi-stakeholder platform that brings together private and public organisations, policymakers, researchers, cities and citizens to address two of the world’s most pressing global challenges: water security and climate change. This unprecedented collaborative effort aims to reinvent the future of urban water consumption in the homes, by making 50L of daily water use per person feel like 500 – at 0 carbon.

2021-06-02 12:15:00 MT

Does Water Limit Growth in the West

Speaker
John Robinson - Director
director@bloodofthewest.com
Moderator
Doug Pushard - Executive Director
doug@kuelwater.org
2021-06-03 09:00:00 MT

Building in a Time of Drought

Panelist
Darrel McMaster - Co-owner
sustainablehomes@gvtc.com
Panelist
Kim Shanahan - Owner
shanafe@aol.com
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-03 10:20:00 MT

Why Your Shower Feels Wimpy (And What To Do About It)

Speaker
Gary Klein - Owner
gary@garykleinassociates.com
Moderator
Laureen Blissard - Technical Director
lb@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-03 11:25:00 MT

WERS & Santa Fe Water Savings

Co-Presenter
Laureen Blissard - Technical Director
lb@greenbuildercoalition.org
Co-Presenter
Katherine Mortimer - Owner
kat@paxconsulting.biz
Moderator
Miles Conway - Executive Officer
eo@sfahba.com
2021-06-03 12:10:00 MT

National Green Building Standard: Water Ratings? What Gives?

Panelist
Cindy Wasser - Senior Manager, Green Building Programs
cwasser@homeinnovation.com
Panelist
Craig Conner - Owner
craig.conner@mac.com
Moderator
Kim Shanahan - Owner
shanafe@aol.com

Kim Shanahan will lead a discussion with Cindy Wasser and Craig Connor on how the Water Rating Index (WRI) was established in the 2020 National Green Building Standard and how it can be used by water jurisdictions facing pressures of growth with limited and declining allocations of water.  You can't manage what you're not measuring, especially new residential growth.  The WRI is a predictive water-usage calculation tool based on a zero to 100 scale with zero being net zero water usage.  The index can calculate projected gallons of annual usage and can predict how many new homes can be sustained by an acre foot of available water.

2021-06-04 09:00:00 MT

Friday Keynote

Speaker
Melanie Stansbury - State Legislator
melanieforcongress@melaniefornm.com
Speaker
Teresa Leger Fernández - Congresswoman
Moderator
Glenn Schiffbauer - Executive Director
glennschiffbauer@gmail.com
2021-06-04 10:05:00 MT

Low-income Conservation Programs

Panelist
Bill Christiansen - Director of Programs
bill@a4we.org
Panelist
Veronica Blette - Chief, WaterSense Branch of EPA
blette.veronica@epa.gov
Moderator
Christine Chavez - Water Conservation Manager
cychavez@santafenm.gov
2021-06-04 11:05:00 MT

Public/Private Financing Alternatives

Panelist
Arthine Cossey van Duyne - CEO & Founding Partner
arthine@waterfunder.com
Panelist
Will Sarni - Founder & CEO
will@waterfoundry.com
Moderator
Doug Pushard - Executive Director
doug@kuelwater.org
2021-06-04 12:15:00 MT

Closing Panel - Organizing Committee

Panelist
Doug Pushard - Executive Director
doug@kuelwater.org
Panelist
Glenn Schiffbauer - Executive Director
glennschiffbauer@gmail.com
Panelist
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
021-06-04 10:20:00 MT

Water Resource Management Strategies for a Changing Future

Speaker
Bill Schneider - Water Resources & Conservation Manager
whschneider@santafenm.gov
Moderator
Glenn Schiffbauer - Executive Director
glennschiffbauer@gmail.com
2021-06-04 11:25:00 MT

How Does Water Conservation Sync with Growth

Speaker
Christine Chavez - Water Conservation Manager
cychavez@santafenm.gov
Speaker
Andrew Erdmann
paerdmann@santafenm.gov
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-04 12:15:00 MT

City of Santa Fe Roundtable

Panelist
Christine Chavez - Water Conservation Manager
cychavez@santafenm.gov
Panelist
Elias Issacson - Planning & Land Use Director
esisaacson@santafenm.gov
Panelist
Jason Kluck - Assistant Land Use Director
jmkluck@santafenm.gov
Panelist
Jesse Roach - Director, City of Santa Fe Water
jdroach@santafenm.gov
Panelist
Marcos Martinez - Senior Assistant City Attorney
mdmartinez@santafenm.gov
Panelist
Neal Denton - Sustainability Planner
nhdenton@santafenm.gov
Moderator
Carol Romero-Wirth - City Councilor
cromero-wirth@ci.santa-fe.nm.us
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Why Would Homebuilders Sign Up For WaterSense for Homes 2.0?

Speaker
Jonah Schein - National Program Manager for Homes & Buildings
schein.jonah@epa.gov
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Water Efficiency - Performance vs. Prescriptive

Speaker
Laureen Blissard - Technical Director
lb@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Permitting Graywater Systems in New Mexico

Co-Presenter
Doug Pushard - Executive Director
doug@kuelwater.org
Co-Presenter
Michael Broussard
michael.broussard@state.nm.us
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Plumbing Game Changer: IAPMO's Water Demand Calculator

Panelist
Christoph Lohr - VP, Strategic Initiatives
christoph.lohr@iapmo.org
Panelist
Dan Cole - Sr. Director, Technical Services
dan.cole@iapmo.org
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-02 00:00:01 MT

Multifamily Water Ratings: A Case Study

Co-Presenter
Laureen Blissard - Technical Director
lb@greenbuildercoalition.org
Co-Presenter
Paul Blissard - Co-owner
blissardp@ltlbren.com
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Rainwater Catchment: Pitfalls to Avoid

Speaker
Reese Baker - Owner
reese@theraincatcherinc.com
Panelist
David Crawford - CEO
dcrawford@rainwatermanagement.com
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Graywater: Where Is It Headed?

Panelist
Fernando Ramirez - Managing Director
fernando.ramirez@hydraloop.com
Panelist
Shawn Crawford - National Accounts Manager
scrawford@rainwatermanagement.com
Moderator
Charlie Alcorn - Program Coordinator
calcorn@watershedmg.org

Graywater is a great alternative water source. Many homes produce 20-50 gallons a day; that is 600 - 1,500 gallons a month!  It is a growth market throughout the West. This panel is going to focus on emerging technologies in the residential and commercial graywater market.  Discover the types of systems that are coming to market that will make reusing graywater easier.

2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

Evaluating Drip Irrigation Efficiency and a New Tool to Get it Done

Speaker
Kris Loomis - Senior Programs Specialist
Moderator
Doug Pushard - Executive Director
doug@kuelwater.org

Learn a fast, easy and efficient way to collect dynamic water pressure (psi) while troubleshooting or performing drip audits or assessments. Locating the root of the problem in a drip system can be a tricky situation. If you are able to test psi, it can turn a chore into an easy task.

The Irrigation Association recommends collecting psi from three points within the drip system during a drip irrigation audit. The traditional way creates waste, is time-consuming and is not the most efficient method. With this DIY, easy-to-build drip psi testing tool, you can check your three psi areas within minutes and move on to the next zone without losing a drop of water.

Perhaps you are not performing a drip audit, but the system has issues that you need to figure out. With this tool, you place the rubber tip up against the orifice of the drip emitter or emitter tubing outlet, and you can move from emitter to emitter with great ease without wasting any water or poking a single hole. A psi reading is immediate and can help you quickly assess where issues are, without making a mess or wasting time.

If you are in California and performing a Model Water Efficient Landscape Ordinance (MWELO) audit, this method will save you time and get you to the next step faster.

Learning objectives:

  1. Learn why is it important to be able to efficiently obtain pressure (psi) readings in a drip system.
  2. Compare traditional and new methods of obtaining psi within a drip system
  3. Learn how to make your own tool to be able to efficiently check psi in a drip system.
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

How Water Has Shaped the Codes

Speaker
Hope Medina - Energy/Green Code Consultant
hmedina@coloradocode.net
Moderator
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
2021-06-02 00:00:00 MT

The Authority Podcast - Water Reuse Episode

Panelist
Mike Collignon - Executive Director
mcollignon@greenbuildercoalition.org
Moderator
Christoph Lohr - VP, Strategic Initiatives
christoph.lohr@iapmo.org
2021-06-03 00:00:00 MT

Community Land Resiliency: An Integrated Approach

Speaker
Regina Hirsch - Executive Director